The write-in period for the 2024 Executive Council is open

The Executive Council (EC) approved the slate presented by the Nominations Committee for next year’s EC members. You may include any additional write-in names that are not included on the slate below before the final ballot is presented to the membership for a vote.

To be included as a write-in candidate, the individual must be a member of LASA in good standing and must meet the conditions of the Constitution and By-laws, and meet the required level of the LASA Service Path. Please include the curriculum vitae of each candidate and determine beforehand that they are willing to have their names included on the ballot.

Signatures of a minimum of 4% of the membership in good standing will be required for each write-in. The membership for the 2023 calendar year as of November 28 is 9,797, which means that 392 signatures are required for each candidate. Please assemble all signatures in a PDF file and send them with the information about your write-in candidate to

You have six weeks to respond to this request, or until midnight EST of January 10, 2024. The final ballot will then be assembled and presented to the membership for a vote. It will also indicate which candidates were on the approved slate and which are write-ins.

Slate approved by the Executive Council

Vice President / President-Elect

Maxwell Cameron, Political Science 
University of British Columbia (Canada)

Lidia Maria Vianna Possas, Gender, Sexualities and Women's Studies
Universidade Estadual Paulista (Brazil)

Executive Council Members

Ulla Berg, Anthropology and Archaeology
Rutgers University (USA)

José Edgardo Cal Montoya, History
Universidad de San Carlos de Guatemala (Guatemala)

Sophie Esch, Literature
Rice University (USA)

Elisabeth Jay Friedman, Political Science  
University of San Francisco (USA)

Cristián Opazo, Literature 
Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile (Chile)

Eduardo Silva, Political Science 
Tulane University (USA)

Student Representative

Veronica Valencia Gonzalez, Sociology
University of California/Irvine (USA)

Mishella Romo Rivas, Political Science 
Princeton University (USA)