Congratulations to the LASA2019 Awardees

January 11, 2019

The Latin American Studies Association is pleased to announce the LASA2019 awardees, which will be publicly congratulated by the LASA President, Lynn Stephen, during the Welcome Ceremony of the Association's XXXVII International Congress “LASA2019 Nuestra América: Justice and Inclusion” in Boston, USA / May 24 - 27, 2019.

Guillermo O’Donnell Democracy Award and Lectureship

Evelyne Huber
Morehead Alumni Professor of Political Science, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

John D. Stephens
Distinguished Professor of Political Science and Sociology, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

The Guillermo O’Donnell Democracy Award and Lectureship honors the distinguished career and pioneering intellectual leadership of the late Guillermo O’Donnell. This annual, Association-wide award and lectureship recognizes either outstanding scholarship in the field of democracy studies or particularly meritorious public service that promotes democracy and democratic values in Latin America and the Caribbean. 

LASA/Oxfam America Martin Diskin Dissertation Award

Daniel Ruiz-Serna
Anthropology, McGill University
Dissertation: "When Forests Run Amok. War and its Afterlives in Indigenous and Afro-Colombian Territories” 

Honorable Mention

Laura Bernal-Bermúdez
University of Oxford, Sociology
Dissertation: “The Power of Business and the Power of People: Understanding Remedy and Business Accountability for Human Rights Violations-Colombia 1970-2014.”

The Martin Diskin Dissertation Award is made possible through the generosity of Oxfam America, LASA, and LASA members. This award is offered at each LASA International Congress to an outstanding junior scholar who embodies Professor Diskin’s commitment to the creative combination of activism and scholarship.

LASA/Oxfam America Martin Diskin Memorial Lectureship

José Alberto Idiáquez, SJ
President Universidad Centroamericana, Nicaragua

The Memorial Lectureship award is given to an outstanding individual who embodies Professor Martin Diskin’s commitment to the combination of activism and scholarship. Dr. Martin Diskin was a vital member of the Latin American Studies Association and of Oxfam America. His passion towards the human rights movement and his guidance over grantmaking in Latin America proved to be invaluable.

LASA Media Award

Patricia Nieto Nieto
Journalist and Colombian chronicler.  Professor of social communication and journalism at the Universidad de Antioquia in Medellín.

Honorable Mention

Nelly Luna Amancio
General Editor and Co-founder of OjoPúblico

The LASA Media Award is given every year to recognize long-term journalistic contributions to analysis and public debate about Latin America in the United States or in Latin America, as well as for breakthrough journalism.

The winners of the following awards will be announced soon:

  • Luciano Tomassini Latin American International Relations Book Award
  • Howard F. Cline Book Prize In Mexican History
  • Bryce Wood Book Award
  • Premio Iberoamericano Book Award
  • Charles A. Hale Fellowship for Mexican History
  • LARR-Pitt Best Article Award

About the Latin American Studies Association (LASA)

The Latin American Studies Association (LASA) is the largest professional Association in the world for individuals and institutions engaged in the study of Latin America. With over 12,000 members, over 65 percent of whom reside outside the United States, LASA is the one association that brings together experts on Latin America from all disciplines and diverse occupational endeavors, across the globe. LASA's mission is to foster intellectual discussion, research, and teaching on Latin America, the Caribbean, and its people throughout the Americas, promote the interests of its diverse membership, and encourage civic engagement through network building and public debate.

If you wish to interview a LASA Executive Council member, you can contact the LASA communications office at (412) 648-7929 or