ABOUT

Minutes of the Executive Council

SEPTEMBER 2023

The Executive Council oversees the affairs of the Association, and for corporate purposes shall be considered as its Board of Directors.

The Executive Council consists of: eleven voting members (the past president, the president, the vice president, the treasurer, a graduate student, and six elected members) and the following ex officio members with voice but no vote: the executive director of LASA, the Editor of *Latin American Research Review (LARR)*, the current congressional program chairs, the editors of the *Latin America Research Commons (LARC)*, the Strategic Plan Oversight Committee and two section advisory representatives.

	Action Items	Vote/Consensus
1	The minutes and the action and consensus items of May/ June 2023 were commented and approved with the specified corrections.	Vote: Approved with 9 votes in favor and 1 abstention.
2	 Regarding the operation of the Mentoring Program in Bogotá for LASA2024, it was agreed to: Keep the virtual and on-site mentorships Increase the time per session to 45 minutes or one hour. Contact the 4 volunteers from the Executive Council to coordinate this program. Have a maximum of three students per session Provide coffee and cookies for the students Involve Javeriana professors in this program since they are hosting the conference. 	Consensus
3	Two new Executive Council members are added to participate in the Anti-Harassment Committee.	Consensus

	Action Items	Vote/Consensus
4	The inclusion of Executive Council members on the following subcommittees is reviewed and confirmed: 1. Academic Freedom and Human Rights 2. Communications 3. Publications (Ad-hoc) 4. Staff 5. Sections 6. LACC	Consensus
5	The LASA2024 registration fee for members of the Cuban Section was discussed and it was agreed to create a working committee of the Executive Council to review this policy and make recommendations once the final data from this congress is available.	Consensus

GOVERNANCE

Elected Members of the Executive Council

Jo-Marie Burt, President, George Mason University Javier Guerrero, Vice President/President Elect, Princeton University Margarita López Maya, Past President, Universidad Central de Venezuela Jennifer Pribble, Treasurer, University of Richmond Mónica Espinosa Arango, Incoming Treasurer, Universidad de los Andes ** Julieta Suarez-Cao, Elected Member, Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile Xóchitl Bada, Elected Member, University of Illinois/Chicago Gloria Elizabeth Chacón, Elected Member, University of California / San Diego Aníbal Pérez-Liñán, Elected Member, University of Notre Dame * Laura Gutiérrez, Elected Member, University of Texas at Austin Thais Tartalha, Elected Member, University of California, Los Angeles

Ex-Officio Members of the Executive Council

Milagros Pereyra-Rojas, Executive Director, University of Pittsburgh María Eugenia Ulfe, Program Co-Chair, Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú Enrique Desmond Arias, Program Co-Chair, Baruch College and City University of New York ** Rosalva Aída Hernández Castillo, Sections Representative, CIESAS- México ** Beatriz Padilla, Sections Representative, University of South Florida Carmen Martínez Novo, Editor of LARR, University of Florida Natalia Majluf, Editor of LARC, Independent * Francisco Valdés Ugalde, Editor of LARC, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México **

Other Participants

Julieta Mortati, Manager, Latin America Research Commons (LARC) and LASA Forum ** Erin Gray, Publications Coordinator, Latin American Research Review (LARR) **

*Absent **Partial attendance

LATIN AMERICAN STUDIES ASSOCIATION

4338 Bigelow Blvd Pittsburgh, PA 15213 <u>lasa@lasaweb.org</u> Tel: (412) 648-7929 Fax: (610) 492-2791

