ABOUT

Minutes of the Executive Council

MARCH 2023

The Executive Council oversees the affairs of the Association, and for corporate purposes shall be considered as its Board of Directors.

The Executive Council consists of: eleven voting members (the past president, the president, the vice president, the treasurer, a graduate student, and six elected members) and the following ex officio members with voice but no vote: the executive director of LASA, the Editor of *Latin American Research Review (LARR)*, the current congressional program chairs, the editors of the *Latin America Research Commons (LARC)*, the Strategic Plan Oversight Committee and two section advisory representatives.

	Action Items	Vote/Consensus
1	It is agreed by consensus to review the LASA Dialogues from 2019 and to better define this tool in terms of:	Consensus
	Its main mission	
	• The main responsible person	
	 And, how many should be done annually, given the limited resources we have. 	
	The Communications sub-committee will be asked to make a proposal.	
2	It was agreed by consensus to inform the membership that the EC has decided to evaluate the following sub-committees at the end of three years of their creation:	Consensus
	• Sections	
	• Publications	
	• Staff and	
	and Communications	
	in order to make the necessary adjustments.	

GOVERNANCE

Elected Members of the Executive Council

Margarita López Maya, President, Universidad Central de Venezuela Jo-Marie Burt, Vice President/President Elect, George Mason University Gerardo Otero, Past President, Simon Fraser University Jennifer Pribble, Treasurer, University of Richmond ** Thais Tartalha, Elected Member, Universidade Federal do ABC Gloria Elizabeth Chacón, Elected Member, University of California / San Diego Aníbal Pérez-Liñán, Elected Member, University of Notre Dame Laura Gutiérrez, Elected Member, University of Texas at Austin Montserrat Sagot, Elected Member, Universidad de Costa Rica Gisela Zaremberg, Elected Member, Facultad Latinoamericana de Ciencias Sociales (FLACSO) México Verónica Schild, Elected Member, University of Western Ontario Jennifer Cárcamo, Student Representative, University of California, Los Angeles

Ex-Officio Members of the Executive Council

Milagros Pereyra-Rojas, Executive Director, University of Pittsburgh ** Yanina Welp, Program Co-Chair, Graduate Institute * David Smile, Program Co-Chair, Tulane University Rosalva Aída Hernández Castillo, Sections Representative, CIESAS- México * Beatriz Padilla, Sections Representative, University of South Florida Carmen Martínez Novo, Editor of LARR, University of Florida Natalia Majluf, Editor of LARC, Independent * Francisco Valdés Ugalde, Editor of LARC, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México *

Invited

Emilia Simison, Assistant to Program Chairs, *Tulane University* ** Erin Gray, Publications Coordinator, *Latin American Research Review* ** Julieta Mortati, Manager, *Latin America Research Commons LARC* and *LASA Forum* **

*Absent

**Partial attendance

LATIN AMERICAN STUDIES ASSOCIATION

4338 Bigelow Blvd Pittsburgh, PA 15213 <u>lasa@lasaweb.org</u> Tel: (412) 648-7929 Fax: (610) 492-2791

