# Minutes of the Executive Council

**SEPTEMBER 2021** 

The Executive Council oversees the affairs of the Association, and for corporate purposes shall be considered as its Board of Directors.

The Executive Council shall consist of: eleven voting members (the Immediate Past President, President, Vice President, Treasurer, a Graduate Student, and six elected members), and the following ex officio members with voice but no vote: the LASA Executive Director, the Editor of the Latin American Research Review, the current Congress Program Chair(s), the Editor(s) of the Latin America Research Commons (LARC), and the Strategic Plan Oversight Committee, and two section advisory representatives.

	Action Items	Vote/Consensus
1	The financial model presented was approved by a unanimous vote.	Vote: Approved unanimously (12 votes)
2	It was decided by consensus to keep the LASA2022 Congress in a hybrid format.	Consensus
3	Changes to the By-Laws regarding the LASA Forum and others were unanimously approved.	Vote: Approved unanimousl (12 votes)
4	The formation of the subcommittees is approved:  1. Communications 2. Publications 3. Sections 4. Staff	Vote: Approved unanimousl (12 votes)
5	Approved by consensus that the President would draft a letter of response and send it to the EC for consultation before sending it to the Sections. The EC will write an article on "LASA myths and realities".	Consensus

LASA 1

6	That the Sections sub-committee meet with the Archives, Libraries and Digital Scholarship Section, to clarify and rework the proposal for the creation of a permanent track. Approved by consensus.	Consensus
7	It was approved by consensus to form a working committee to study the document on harassment and present some elements of implementation to the EC next December.	Consensus
8	To provide the members of the EC with an electronic means to make comments on the documents received. Approved by consensus.	Consensus

## **GOVERNANCE**

#### **Elected Members of the Executive Council**

Gerardo Otero, President, Simon Fraser University

Margarita López Maya, Vice President/President-Elect, Universidad Central de Venezuela

Gioconda Herrera, Past President, Facultad Latinoamericana de Ciencias Sociales (FLACSO) Ecuador

María Josefina Saldaña-Portillo, Treasurer, New York University

Jennifer Pribble, Incoming Treasurer, University of Richmond

Montserrat Sagot, Elected Member, Universidad de Costa Rica

Angela Vergara, Elected Member, California State University

Gisela Zaremberg, Elected Member, Facultad Latinoamericana de Ciencias Sociales (FLACSO) México

Dara Goldman, Elected Member, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Verónica Schild, Elected Member, University of Western Ontario

Antonio Sérgio Guimarães, Elected Member, University of São Paulo

Joseph Torres González, Student Representative, The City University of New York (CUNY)

#### **Ex-Officio Members of the Executive Council**

Milagros Pereyra-Rojas, Executive Director, University of Pittsburgh

Katarzyna Olga Beilin, Program Co-Chair, University de Wisconsin-Madison

Enrique Dussel Petters, Program Co-Chair, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México \*

Birgit Müller, Program Chair, École des Houtes Études en Sciences Sociales \*

Rosalva Aída Hernández Castillo, Sections Representative, CIESAS- México \*

Beatriz Padilla, Sections Representative, University of South Florida

Carmen Martínez Novo, Editor of LARR, University of Florida

Natalia Majluf, Editor of LARC, Independent \*

Francisco Valdés Ugalde, Editor of LARC, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México\*

\*Absent

## LATIN AMERICAN STUDIES ASSOCIATION

4338 Bigelow Blvd Pittsburgh, PA 15213 lasa@lasaweb.org

Tel: (412) 648-7929 Fax: (610) 492-2791

