Minutes of the Executive Council

SEPTEMBER 2022

The Executive Council oversees the affairs of the Association, and for corporate purposes shall be considered as its Board of Directors.

The Executive Council consists of: eleven voting members (the past president, the president, the vice president, the treasurer, a graduate student, and six elected members) and the following ex officio members with voice but no vote: the executive director of LASA, the Editor of Latin American Research Review (LARR), the current congressional program chairs, the editors of the Latin America Research Commons (LARC), the Strategic Plan Oversight Committee and two section advisory representatives.

	Action Items	Vote/ Consensus
1	The minutes and the Action and Consensus items from the previous meeting were unanimously approved.	Vote: Approved unanimously (11 votes)
2	Regarding the inauguration of the LACC, it was agreed by consensus that the W&M will analyze the ideas and comments presented at the meeting and prepare a proposal for the next EC meeting.	Consensus
3	It was unanimously approved to include the changes proposed on page 18 of the LASA Constitution, regarding race and age.	Vote: Approved unanimously (11 votes)
4	It was agreed by consensus to send the requirements for the LASA2024 Congress to the EC members, so that they can contribute with suggestions for possible venues.	Consensus
5	It was agreed by consensus to continue with the mentoring at LASA2023. A first meeting will be held to start the coordination.	Consensus
6	It was agreed by consensus to request more detailed information on the above mentioned social network management. To invite the Section representative who does not currently have the role of "Section Shair" to the next meeting with Section Coordinators, next Friday, September 30.	Consensus

LASA 1

GOVERNANCE

Part 1: September 16, 2022 / 2:00 pm- 4:00 pm (EDT)

Elected Members of the Executive Council

Margarita López Maya, President, Universidad Central de Venezuela

Jo-Marie Burt, Vice President/President Elect, George Mason University

Gerardo Otero, Past President, Simon Fraser University

Jennifer Pribble, Treasurer, University of Richmond

Gloria Elizabeth Chacón, Elected Member, University of California / San Diego *

Aníbal Pérez-Liñán, Elected Member, University of Notre Dame

Laura Gutiérrez, Elected Member, University of Texas at Austin

Montserrat Sagot, Elected Member, Universidad de Costa Rica

Angela Vergara, Elected Member, California State University

Gisela Zaremberg, Elected Member, Facultad Latinoamericana de Ciencias Sociales (FLACSO) México

Verónica Schild, Elected Member, University of Western Ontario

Jennifer Cárcamo, Student Representative, University of California, Los Angeles

Ex-Officio Members of the Executive Council

Milagros Pereyra-Rojas, Executive Director, University of Pittsburgh

Yanina Welp, Program Co-Chair, Graduate Institute **

David Smile, Program Co-Chair, Tulane University

Rosalva Aída Hernández Castillo, Sections Representative, CIESAS- México

Beatriz Padilla, Sections Representative, University of South Florida *

Carmen Martínez Novo, Editor of LARR, University of Florida

Natalia Majluf, Editor of LARC, Independent *

Francisco Valdés Ugalde, Editor of LARC, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México *

^{*}Absent

^{**}Partial attendance

GOVERNANCE

Part 2: September 23, 2022 / 11:00 am- 1:35 pm (EDT)

Elected Members of the Executive Council

Margarita López Maya, President, Universidad Central de Venezuela

Jo-Marie Burt, Vice President/President Elect, George Mason University

Gerardo Otero, Past President, Simon Fraser University

Jennifer Pribble, Treasurer, University of Richmond

Gloria Elizabeth Chacón, Elected Member, University of California / San Diego *

Aníbal Pérez-Liñán, Elected Member, University of Notre Dame

Laura Gutiérrez, Elected Member, University of Texas at Austin

Montserrat Sagot, Elected Member, Universidad de Costa Rica

Angela Vergara, Elected Member, California State University *

Gisela Zaremberg, Elected Member, Facultad Latinoamericana de Ciencias Sociales (FLACSO) México

Verónica Schild, Elected Member, University of Western Ontario

Jennifer Cárcamo, Student Representative, University of California, Los Angeles **

Ex-Officio Members of the Executive Council

Milagros Pereyra-Rojas, Executive Director, University of Pittsburgh

Yanina Welp, Program Co-Chair, Graduate Institute *

David Smile, Program Co-Chair, Tulane University *

Rosalva Aída Hernández Castillo, Sections Representative, CIESAS- México

Beatriz Padilla, Sections Representative, University of South Florida *

Carmen Martínez Novo, Editor of LARR, University of Florida

Natalia Majluf, Editor of LARC, Independent *

Francisco Valdés Ugalde, Editor of LARC, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México *

Invited

Mirna Kolbowski, Financial Director, LASA **

Sharon Moose, Accountant, LASA **

*Absent

**Partial attendance

LATIN AMERICAN STUDIES ASSOCIATION

4338 Bigelow Blvd Pittsburgh, PA 15213 lasa@lasaweb.org

Tel: (412) 648-7929 Fax: (610) 492-2791

