Minutes of the Executive Council

MAY 2022

The Executive Council oversees the affairs of the Association, and for corporate purposes shall be considered as its Board of Directors.

The Executive Council consists of: eleven voting members (the past president, the president, the vice president, the treasurer, a graduate student, and six elected members) and the following ex officio members with voice but no vote: the executive director of LASA, the Editor of Latin American Research Review (LARR), the current congressional program chairs, the editors of the Latin America Research Commons (LARC), the Strategic Plan Oversight Committee, and two section advisory representatives.

	Action Items	Vote/Consensus
1	The minutes of the December 2021 and March 2022 EC and their respective Action and Consensus Items were unanimously approved.	Vote: Approved unanimously 10 votes)
2	It is suggested that the W&M explore ways to facilitate attendance to the next congress, without presenting a paper. It is suggested that connections be made with universities and local communities. Approved by consensus.	Consensus
3	Regarding the Treasurer's Report, the following was approved unanimously: • The document "Endowment Investment Guidelines" as amended by W&M on 5/26/22. • To have a proposal on the distribution of the "Safe Take" in the Guidelines by December 2022. • The document presented by the Treasurer, with one change, and it is suggested that the report be presented by the Secretariat every six months. • Creation of a subcommittee of the EC to define the activities and mechanisms of the LACC in order to make a proposal for next December.	Vote: Approved unanimously 10 votes)

LASA 1

	Action Items	Vote/Consensus
4	Approval by consensus of the guidelines so that the session proposals to the LASA Congress include: Institutional diversity Regional diversity Disciplinary diversity Intergenerational diversity Gender diversity	Consensus
5	 Approved: Change the election monitoring process so that the Liason to the Nominating Committee has access to the voting system along with the Executive Director. That the results of the elections be widely publicized at all levels of LASA and that candidates be informed in advance that this will be done. 	Vote: Approved unanimously 10 votes)
6	Regarding Section representation in the EC, it was agreed by consensus to extend this for another year to see how it develops. It was requested that this be part of the agenda of the next W&M and EC meetings to evaluate, if necessary, how to allow Section representatives to have voice and vote in the EC, and how many representatives they would be.	Consensus
7	The Publications Subcommittee proposes to define the quantitative criteria for analyzing the proposals of LARR articles and to review the times in the different levels, comparing them with other journals, in order to make it more competitive. In this regard, it is agreed by consensus to postpone the matter to September 2022.	Consensus
8	Approved unanimously: • To amend item 6 of the "Social Media Guidelines" to read as follows: " The opinions expressed by the Section are the sole responsibility of the persons coordinating the Section and do not reflect the official position of the LASA Executive Board". • The submitted survey.	Vote: Approved unanimously 10 votes)

	Action Items	Vote/Consensus
9	Agreed by consensus: to send a thank-you letter to the professors who participated in the Mentoring Program.	Consensus
10	Agreed by consensus that the lists of section members should include the e-mail addresses of their members, in order to facilitate communication.	Consensus

GOVERNANCE

Elected Members of the Executive Council

Gerardo Otero, President, Simon Fraser University

Margarita López Maya, Vice President/President-Elect, Universidad Central de Venezuela

Gioconda Herrera, Past President, Facultad Latinoamericana de Ciencias Sociales (FLACSO) Ecuador

María Josefina Saldaña-Portillo, Treasurer, New York University

Jennifer Pribble, Incoming Treasurer, University of Richmond

Montserrat Sagot, Elected Member, Universidad de Costa Rica

Angela Vergara, Elected Member, California State University

Gisela Zaremberg, Elected Member, Facultad Latinoamericana de Ciencias Sociales (FLACSO) México

Dara Goldman, Elected Member, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign * †

Verónica Schild, Elected Member, University of Western Ontario

Antonio Sérgio Guimarães, Elected Member, University of São Paulo

Joseph Torres González, Student Representative, The City University of New York (CUNY) *

Ex-Officio Members of the Executive Council

Milagros Pereyra-Rojas, Executive Director, University of Pittsburgh

Katarzyna Olga Beilin, Program Co-Chair, University de Wisconsin-Madison

Enrique Dussel Petters, Program Co-Chair, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México

Birgit Müller, Program Chair, École des Houtes Études en Sciences Sociales *

Rosalva Aída Hernández Castillo, Sections Representative, CIESAS- México

Beatriz Padilla, Sections Representative, University of South Florida

Carmen Martínez Novo, Editor of LARR, University of Florida **

Natalia Majluf, Editor of LARC, Independent *

Francisco Valdés Ugalde, Editor of LARC, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México*

Invited Future Executive Board Members

Jo-Marie Burt, Vice President/President Elect June 1, 2022 – May 31, 2023, *George Mason University* **Gloria Elizabeth Chacón**, Elected Member June 1, 2022 – May 31, 2025, *University of California / San Diego*

LATIN AMERICAN STUDIES ASSOCIATION

4338 Bigelow Blvd Pittsburgh, PA 15213 lasa@lasaweb.org

Tel: (412) 648-7929 Fax: (610) 492-2791



^{*}Absent

^{**}Partial Attendance