Minutes of the Executive Council

MARCH 2022

The Executive Council oversees the affairs of the Association, and for corporate purposes shall be considered as its Board of Directors.

The Executive Council consists of: eleven voting members (the past president, the president, the vice president, the treasurer, a graduate student, and six elected members) and the following ex officio members with voice but no vote: the executive director of LASA, the Editor of Latin American Research Review (LARR), the current congressional program chairs, the editors of the Latin America Research Commons (LARC), the Strategic Plan Oversight Committee and two section advisory representatives.

	Action Items	Vote/Consensus
1	It was agreed by consensus to consult the Sections on the interest of each section in producing at least one annual review of a title, creating a new journal, or adding these reviews to the LASA website. The results of this consultation will be discussed at the next EC meeting.	Consensus
2	It is unanimously approved to accept the name changes for the following Sections: 1. The Mass Media & Popular Culture section will be renamed Media, Communication & Culture. 2. The section Latino Studies will be renamed Latinx Studies. 3. The International Migrations section will be renamed Migraciones, Desplazamientos y Movilidades. 4. Finally, the Scholarly Resources track will be renamed Archives, Libraries, and Digital Scholarship.	Vote: Unanimously approved (10 votes)

LASA 1

GOVERNANCE

Elected Members of the Executive Council

Gerardo Otero, President, Simon Fraser University

Margarita López Maya, Vice President/President-Elect, Universidad Central de Venezuela

Gioconda Herrera, Past President, Facultad Latinoamericana de Ciencias Sociales (FLACSO) Ecuador**

María Josefina Saldaña-Portillo, Treasurer, New York University

Jennifer Pribble, Incoming Treasurer, University of Richmond

Montserrat Sagot, Elected Member, Universidad de Costa Rica

Angela Vergara, Elected Member, California State University*

Gisela Zaremberg, Elected Member, Facultad Latinoamericana de Ciencias Sociales (FLACSO) México**

Dara Goldman, Elected Member, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign**

Verónica Schild, Elected Member, University of Western Ontario

Antonio Sérgio Guimarães, Elected Member, University of São Paulo

Joseph Torres González, Student Representative, The City University of New York (CUNY)*

Ex-Officio Members of the Executive Council

Milagros Pereyra-Rojas, Executive Director, University of Pittsburgh

Katarzyna Olga Beilin, Program Co-Chair, University de Wisconsin-Madison**

Enrique Dussel Petters, Program Co-Chair, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México*

Birgit Müller, Program Chair, École des Houtes Études en Sciences Sociales*

Rosalva Aída Hernández Castillo, Sections Representative, CIESAS- México **

Beatriz Padilla, Sections Representative, University of South Florida**

Carmen Martínez Novo, Editor of LARR, University of Florida**

Natalia Majluf, Editor of LARC, Independent *

Francisco Valdés Ugalde, Editor of LARC, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México **

Other participants

Sara Lickey**

Julieta Mortati**

Bill DeWalt, Sylvia Keller, and Sandra Budd**

LATIN AMERICAN STUDIES ASSOCIATION

4338 Bigelow Blvd Pittsburgh, PA 15213 lasa@lasaweb.org

Tel: (412) 648-7929 Fax: (610) 492-2791



^{*}Absent

^{**} Partial attendance