Minutes of the Executive Council

DECEMBER 2021

The Executive Council oversees the affairs of the Association, and for corporate purposes shall be considered as its Board of Directors.

The Executive Council shall consist of: eleven voting members (the Immediate Past President, President, Vice President, Treasurer, a Graduate Student, and six elected members), and the following ex officio members with voice but no vote: the LASA Executive Director, the Editor of the Latin American Research Review, the current Congress Program Chair(s), the Editor(s) of the Latin America Research Commons (LARC), and the Strategic Plan Oversight Committee, and two section advisory representatives.

	Action Items	Vote/Consensus
1	• The Chair and Executive Management will draft the response letter sent by 22 sections.	Consensus
	• Expand the title of the Harassment Policy to be broader.	
	Approved by consensus.	
2	The minutes and Action and Consensus items from the June and September 2021 meetings are approved.	Vote: Approved unanimously (12 votes)
3	Regarding the President's Report, it was agreed by consensus:	Consensus
	· To send by email to the EC members the data of the panels by tracks.	
	• To send to the Treasurer the information on the cost of a screen in each room, so that those attending in person do not have to bring their own.	
4	It was approved by consensus to pass the document "Academic Freedom and Human Rights Committee -Policy and Procedures" for grammatical and legal revision. Then, bring it to the next EC meeting for voting.	Consensus

LASA 1

5	Regarding the proposal for student mentoring and "lightning talks" for students and young academics, it is agreed to send the existing links to the person in charge, regarding the mentoring platform, for review.	Consensus
6	On the Report of the Nominating Committee, there is approval on the following: • The slate of candidates. • Adding an ex-President as co-chair, in addition to the Liaison to this committee. • If there are not enough candidates for EC membership, relax the LASA service requirements in the interest of ethnic diversity. • Expanding opportunities for members to get to know candidates, by including a video profile of no more than two minutes.	Vote: Approved unanimously (12 votes)
7	Publish the Conversation on Anti-Harassment Report, with a mini- introduction placing it in historical context and referring to the anti- harassment policy and including only the link. Include the word "policy" in the title of the document to make it more generic.	Vote: Approved unanimously (12 votes)
8	The Vice-President shall add to the list those nominees who accept the nominations for membership of the EC. Approved by consensus.	Consensus
9	It was agreed by consensus to approve by email the changes in the names of the sections: Latino Studies Section to Latinx Studies. International Migrations to Migraciones, Desplazamientos y Movilidades.	Consensus

GOVERNANCE

Elected Members of the Executive Council

Gerardo Otero, President, Simon Fraser University

Margarita López Maya, Vice President/President-Elect, Universidad Central de Venezuela

Gioconda Herrera, Past President, Facultad Latinoamericana de Ciencias Sociales (FLACSO) Ecuador

María Josefina Saldaña-Portillo, Treasurer, New York University

Jennifer Pribble, Incoming Treasurer, University of Richmond

Montserrat Sagot, Elected Member, Universidad de Costa Rica

Angela Vergara, Elected Member, California State University

Gisela Zaremberg, Elected Member, Facultad Latinoamericana de Ciencias Sociales (FLACSO) México

Dara Goldman, Elected Member, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Verónica Schild, Elected Member, University of Western Ontario

Antonio Sérgio Guimarães, Elected Member, University of São Paulo

Joseph Torres González, Student Representative, The City University of New York (CUNY) **

Ex-Officio Members of the Executive Council

Milagros Pereyra-Rojas, Executive Director, University of Pittsburgh

Katarzyna Olga Beilin, Program Co-Chair, University de Wisconsin-Madison

Enrique Dussel Petters, Program Co-Chair, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México *

Birgit Müller, Program Chair, École des Houtes Études en Sciences Sociales *

Rosalva Aída Hernández Castillo, Sections Representative, CIESAS- México

Beatriz Padilla, Sections Representative, University of South Florida

Carmen Martínez Novo, Editor of LARR, University of Florida *

Natalia Majluf, Editor of LARC, Independent *

Francisco Valdés Ugalde, Editor of LARC, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México *

LATIN AMERICAN STUDIES ASSOCIATION

4338 Bigelow Blvd Pittsburgh, PA 15213 lasa@lasaweb.org

Tel: (412) 648-7929 Fax: (610) 492-2791



^{*}Absent

^{**}Partial attendance