## ABOUT

## Minutes of the Executive Council

## DECEMBER 2024

The Executive Council oversees the affairs of the Association, and for corporate purposes shall be considered as its Board of Directors.

The Executive Council consists of: eleven voting members (the past president, the president, the vice president, the treasurer, a graduate student, and six elected members) and the following ex officio members with voice but no vote: the executive director of LASA, the Editor of *Latin American Research Review (LARR)*, the current congressional program chairs, the editors of the *Latin America Research Commons (LARC)*, the Strategic Plan Oversight Committee and two section advisory representatives.

	Action Items	Vote/Consensus
1	The minutes and Action and Consensus Items for September 2024 are discussed and unanimously approved.	Vote: Approved unanimously with 7 votes in favour. The missing votes from Jo- Marie Burt and Beatriz Padilla will send their vote by email.
2	The representation of the sections in the EC was discussed. It was proposed that a single representative from the sections serve as a full EC member. During the transition period, the two members currently elected by the sections will continue to serve as representatives. The following text was approved unanimously: There is a representative of the sections at the Executive Council of the Association, with voice and vote in the EC, elected by universal vote of the LASA members. The representative must have fulfilled a leadership role in at least one section for at least one year in the last 3-5 years (and be a member of at least one section at the time of nomination). The nomination process will be the same as for other members of the EC. The Nominations Committee will consult with the Sections Chairs to identify candidates. The service period is 3 years, similar to other EC members.	Vote: Approved unanimously (9 votes)

# ABOUT

3	The Secretariat's reports on the congress, communications, technology, and finances were discussed. The 2025 budget was presented and unanimously approved.	LASA 2025 budget approved unanimously (10 votes).
4	LARC requested the addition of a member to the editorial committee, that will be named LASA Press. The three proposed candidates are all historians, a discipline that is currently not represented. To support an infomed on decision, it was agreed by consensus to request the candidates' biographies.	Approved by consensus to request candidates' biographies
5	The requirement for members of the Cuba Section residing on the island to pay registration fees in advance when submitting their papers may be considered discriminatory. It was therefore agreed by consensus to bring this matter for discussion at the next EC meeting.	It is agreed by consensus to include the issue of advance payment by Cuban members on the agenda for the next EC meeting.

### GOVERNANCE

### **Elected Members of the Executive Council**

Javier Guerrero, President, Princeton University Maxwell Cameron, Vice President /President Elect, University of British Columbia Jo-Marie Burt, Past President, George Mason University Mónica Espinosa Arango, Treasurer, Universidad de los Andes José Edgardo Cal Montoya, Elected Member, Universidad de San Carlos de Guatemala Cristián Opazo, Elected Member, Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile Julieta Suarez-Cao, Elected Member, Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile Xóchitl Bada, Elected Member, University of Illinois/Chicago \*\* Gloria Elizabeth Chacón, Elected Member, University of California / San Diego \* Aníbal Pérez-Liñán, Elected Member, University of Notre Dame \*\*

#### **Ex-Officio Members of the Executive Council**

Milagros Pereyra-Rojas, Executive Director, University of Pittsburgh Paola Cortes Rocca, Program Co-Chair, Conicet/Universidad Nacional de las Artes \* Emily A. Maguire, Program Co-Chair, Northwestern University Cecilia Fajardo-Hill, Program Co-Chair, Arizona State University \* Marcial Suarez, Sections Representative, Fluminense Federal University Beatriz Padilla, Sections Representative, University of South Florida \* Carmen Martínez Novo, Editor of LARR, University of Florida Natalia Majluf, Editor of LARC, Independent \* Francisco Valdés Ugalde, Editor of LARC, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México \*

### Invited

Manuel Roman-Lacayo, Deputy Director Lazaros Amanatidis, Director of Operations Mirna Kolbowski, Financial Director

\*Absent \*\*Partial attendance

LATIN AMERICAN STUDIES ASSOCIATION

4338 Bigelow Blvd Pittsburgh, PA 15213 <u>lasa@lasaweb.org</u> Tel: (412) 648-7929 Fax: (610) 492-2791

