ABOUT

Minutes of the Executive Council

DECEMBER 2023

The Executive Council oversees the affairs of the Association, and for corporate purposes shall be considered as its Board of Directors.

The Executive Council consists of: eleven voting members (the past president, the president, the vice president, the treasurer, a graduate student, and six elected members) and the following ex officio members with voice but no vote: the executive director of LASA, the Editor of *Latin American Research Review (LARR)*, the current congressional program chairs, the editors of the *Latin America Research Commons (LARC)*, the Strategic Plan Oversight Committee and two section advisory representatives.

	Action Items	Vote/Consensus
1	The minutes of last September 2023 were discussed and approved.	Vote: Approved with 9 votes
2	The Action and Consensus Items from last September 2023 were discussed and approved.	Vote: Approved with 9 votes
3	After commenting on the process of adding the next slate for the LASA elections, it was requested that a letter from the Gender and Feminist Studies Section be shared with the Nominating Committee so that the committee could respond.	Consensus

GOVERNANCE

Elected Members of the Executive Council

Jo-Marie Burt, President, George Mason University Javier Guerrero, Vice President/President Elect, Princeton University * Margarita López Maya, Past President, Universidad Central de Venezuela Jennifer Pribble, Treasurer, University of Richmond Mónica Espinosa Arango, Incoming Treasurer, Universidad de los Andes Julieta Suarez-Cao, Elected Member, Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile * Xóchitl Bada, Elected Member, University of Illinois/Chicago Gloria Elizabeth Chacón, Elected Member, University of California / San Diego Aníbal Pérez-Liñán, Elected Member, University of Notre Dame ** Laura Gutiérrez, Elected Member, University of Texas at Austin ** Thais Tartalha, Elected Member, Universidade Federal do ABC Jennifer Cárcamo, Student Representative, University of California, Los Angeles

Ex-Officio Members of the Executive Council

Milagros Pereyra-Rojas, Executive Director, University of Pittsburgh María Eugenia Ulfe, Program Co-Chair, Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú * Enrique Desmond Arias, Program Co-Chair, Baruch College and City University of New York * Rosalva Aída Hernández Castillo, Sections Representative, CIESAS- México ** Beatriz Padilla, Sections Representative, University of South Florida Carmen Martínez Novo, Editor of LARR, University of Florida * Natalia Majluf, Editor of LARC, Independent * Francisco Valdés Ugalde, Editor of LARC, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México *

Invited

Lazaros Amanatidis, Director of Operations Vanessa Chaves, Director of Communications and Marketing Anna Ruscalleda, Staff Translator Mirna Kolbowski, Financial Director

*Absent **Partial attendance

LATIN AMERICAN STUDIES ASSOCIATION

4338 Bigelow Blvd Pittsburgh, PA 15213 <u>lasa@lasaweb.org</u> Tel: (412) 648-7929 Fax: (610) 492-2791

